Comité Exécutif

La version française sera publiée dès que possible. Nous vous remercions pour votre patience.

The Executive Committee of the Union shall be made up of seven (7) members in good standing:

i. President;

ii. Vice-President/Labour Relations – Loyola Campus;

iii. Collective Agreement Coordinator – Loyola Campus;

iv. Vice-President/Labour Relations – Sir George Williams Campus;

v. Collective Agreement Coordinator – Sir George Williams Campus;

vi. Communications Officer;

vii. Secretary-Treasurer

General Responsibilities of Executive Committee

The Union Executive Committee shall be responsible for:

i. Offering service to members and managing the Union’s day-to-day business;

ii. Preparing and calling General Assemblies;

iii. Ensuring that decisions made by the General Assembly are implemented;

iv. Developing and suggesting union policies that must be approved by the General Assembly;

v. Ensuring that the collective agreement is applied;

vi. Forming all committees it deems necessary to its work and appointing members thereto;

vii. Authorizing solidarity disbursements in the form of a loan or donation not to exceed $500, in accordance with the policies adopted by the Union’s General Assembly;

viii. Managing the hiring, working conditions and compensation of the Union’s contract and/or permanent staff;

ix. Presenting an annual report of its activities to the Union’s Annual General Assembly;

x. Seeing to it that the duties of one or several member(s) of the Executive Committee who are temporarily absent are performed;

xi. Replacing until the next General Assembly and by a simple majority vote in favour all persons resigning from an elected union position from the General Assembly (with the exception of positions on the Finance Audit Committee); and replacing any person resigning from any other union position, if necessary;

xii. Developing and implementing the training (education) policy of members of the Union;

xiii. Ensuring that research employees are represented on Union bodies and committees;

Executive Committee meetings shall be held no fewer than nine (9) times a year. Any member of the Executive Committee can request that an Executive Committee meeting be called.

Responsibilities and Duties of Executive Committee Members

The President, Secretary and Treasurer are elected by all members.
The 2 Vice-Presidents and 2 Collective Agreement Coordinator are elected by their own group (Loyola/SGW campus).

The President shall:

i. Be responsible for the internal administration of the Union;

ii. See to it that all responsibilities entrusted to a member or to a Union committee are indeed performed;

iii. Be informed of all documents produced by organizations that are directly or indirectly related to the Union’s activities; and see to it that this information is forwarded to the appropriate union bodies;

iv. Be the spokesman and official representative of the Union;

v. Be responsible for the Union’s relations with the other unions, PSAC bodies and other groups or organizations;

vi. Chair and direct Executive Committee meetings;

vii. Sign official documents for the Union: minutes of General Assemblies, Executive Committee meetings and the collective agreement, etc.;

viii. Automatically sit on all committees;

ix. Call Union meetings, should the secretary be unable to perform their duties and;

x. Sign documents pertaining to chartered bank instruments.

The Vice-Presidents shall:

i. Assist the President with his/her duties. When the President is absent or in vacancy, the executive decides who between the two vice-presidents shall be named president by interim, they then shall assume all of the latter’s authority;

ii. Be responsible for ensuring that research employees are represented on Union bodies and committees;

iii. Be responsible for the Union’s personnel management;

iv. Assist the Collective Agreement Coordinator with his/her duties;

v. Be responsible for gathering, compiling and distributing all information to members;

vi. Implement, coordinate and review, as required, the information disclosure system and the update of union publications, Internet sites and other means of dissemination;

vii. Be responsible for the visibility and communications of CARE/AERC, among other things, on Internet and;

viii. Coordinate the information and mobilization committee.

The Collective Agreement Coordinators shall:

i. Be responsible for the process of developing the draft collective agreement;

ii. Be responsible for the Collective Agreement Bargaining Committee;

iii. Be responsible for enforcing the collective agreement and, particularly, for the Grievance Committee;

iv. Prepare union-employer meetings.

The Communications Officer shall:

i. Coordinate all correspondence forwarded by or received by the local;

ii. Write and send CARE/AERC newsletters.

iii. Manage all CARE/AERC internet sites, including the CARE/AERC Facebook page.

The Secretary-Treasurer shall:

i. Serve as secretary at General Assemblies and Executive Committee meetings;

ii. Sign all official documents with the president of the Union;

iii. Call Union meetings, write up and send out minutes they signs along with the president of the Union;

iv. Be responsible for the general organization of the secretariat and make sure that all documents produced by the various committees are received;

v. Be responsible for the cash receipts owed to the Union and the payment of any amounts owed by the Union; and sign all cheques and all banking documents with the other signers;

vi. Ensure that the Union’s financial transactions are properly posted in all of the appropriate accounting logs; and prepare the Union’s financial reports;

vii. Prepare the budget forecasts with the other members of the Union’s Executive Committee and act as the union’s financial adviser with respect to the budget adopted by the General Assembly;

viii. Be responsible for the management of salaries paid to Union employees;

ix. Be responsible for sending amounts owing to the organizations the Union is affiliated with; and forwarding donations or loans authorized as support by Union bodies;

x. Not be allowed to resign until the books have been audited by the Audit Committee which shall have its report ratified by the following General Assembly within thirty (30) days.